• Page:

TOPIC: What do I do?

What do I do? 4 years 11 months ago #57254

hi,I'm new to the site and would like to ask the group for some help or advice.
I've been paying my ex Csa payments since 1998 and recently started making the payments directly to her via standing order rather than her being paid thru the Csa.My son is 17 and at present in college.He will be going to uni next September.He has a part time job and I've recently been told that if he works more than 24 hours a week that I will be able to cease paying for him.Is this true??? He is working approximately 30-35 hours per week.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Nick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

What do I do? 4 years 11 months ago #57263

• Mojo
  • Thank you received: 1815
Hi there

If the case has been closed with the CSA and you now have a private arrangement to pay her directly thn the best course of action would be to discuss this with the mother.

As far as I know, if a child is working for more than 24 hours a week the parent with care isn't entitled to child benefit or maintenance. As your son is at college though I'm not sure if that overrides this. He must be attending college for more than 12 hours a week to for his mother to qualify for child benefit/maintenance.

I will ask Child Maintenace Options to offer some advice.

DadTalk Moderator... I'm not legally trained and my responses are my own views based on my experiences of the family court. I have plenty of common sense and can offer you emotional support and guide you to answers.

What do I do? 4 years 11 months ago #57279

Thanks,will call CSA on Monday to see what to do

What do I do? 4 years 11 months ago #57320

Hi Stevo,

Can you let us know how you got on with the CSA on this subject.

Thanks,
Sean

What do I do? 4 years 11 months ago #57368

Hello Stevo63n