• Page:

TOPIC: Exploitation of legal aid system

Exploitation of legal aid system 1 week 5 days ago #105138

Hi,

I am totally bewildered how my ex has managed to get legal aid for domestic abuse. I am the polar opposite of abusive (she went on holiday with her ex for a week and I didn't mind etc). Consequently, I am very concerned how open this system is to being exploited. Fortunately I am able to afford legal representation but I am worried about other fathers who might be on the end of an exploited system but cannot afford representation and how this might impact their ability to see their children.

I do not have a criminal record, I am an ex teacher, I now work in higher education, there has never been any police involvement apart from when my ex tried to get me in trouble for harassment after I sent 3 emails asking to see my child. This was clearly a non-starter as the emails were business like.

I am going to stick my neck out here and from what I can see this has to have arisen from a supporting letter from Women's Aid. Any evidence would be formalised hear-say evidence as I am a very mild mannered individual and wouldn't say boo to a goose.

Has anyone else noticed this is happening? If this has happened to me it could happen to 99% of the population as I am very easy going.

Are there any groups I can join or input into? I am very concerned about this. It feels like a travesty of justice.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Exploitation of legal aid system 1 week 5 days ago #105140

hi,

i can understand completely. when i first went through court system last year, same thing happened to me. never laid a finger on my ex. however her solicitors made legal aid application, citing domestic/emotional abuse nonsense. her solicitor even had the cheek to email me, asking if i agree to postpone the first hearing, to wait for mothers legal aid to come through :p